Tips Security
Disable the UAC in Windows Vista

In this tip we will show you how to disable the UAC, with this function in Vista being criticised by a lot of users for the number of times it appears and the number of additional clicks the user has to make.

Tips & Tricks : categories

Customization, Internet, Network, Optimization, Others, Security, System

Disable the UAC in Windows Vista

December 19th, 2012 - 06:10 pm ET by B. C.
The User Account Control is a new function in Windows which appeared with Vista, with this function having the aim of alerting novice users each time a change is being made to the system. What sounded like a good idea initial has been criticized for the number of alert messages it displays, and the clicks that the user has to make to get rid of it, with the whole process being rather annoying.

A logo figures next to the majority of the UAC messages that appear.



An example of a UAC alert


With the UAC active you need, for example, seven clicks to delete a shortcut, which is rather annoying! While the UAC is of use, it is rather annoying in Windows Vista, so this tip shows you how to disable the function.

  • Click on the "Windows Menu" and select "Control Panel".




Windows menu


  • If you use the Control Panel Welcome screen, click on "User Accounts and Family Safety", and "User Accounts". In the event that you use the Classic Control Panel view, simply double click on "User Accounts".




Control Panel Welcome screen


  • Click on the link "Change Security Settings" and a message will ask you to confirm that you want to continue (this is the UAC which asks if you are sure that you have the right to access the options). Click on the [Continue] button.

  • Uncheck the case "Use User Account Control (UAC) to help protect your computer" and press [OK]. You will then be asked to restart the computer for the changes to take effect, or press cancel to undo the changes....


You will now have gotten rid of the UAS, although you will have to be careful with what you do as you will no longer be warned. So take care, especially when deleting a shortcut!
Post a comment
Previous tip and trick Next tip and trick
Control the sending of Internet Explorer error reports Prevent changes being made to the Windows desktop